motherhoodfaithfitness

sharing the joys, triumphs and struggles of faith, family and fitness!

Mindfulness, Madonna and holiday running

on January 9, 2014

20140109-214726.jpg

Today was my last day of holidays…
“One more run?” I begged hubby.
The cabin needed to be cleaned and the car packed up but the walking track was calling me LOUD this morning!
My darling hubby said “Go for it” and off I went, iPhone tucked into my crop top, and my baseball cap on.

The track from our cabin is a lovely bitumen path through woodland, but still parallel to the road.
I could see another runner up in front, could I catch her? I cranked up my music, the good old Madonna Celebration album, and picked up my pace.
I think Madonna helps me run for 2 reasons, it’s pretty peppy jolly music, and it makes me feel like I’m 14 again, young, fresh, and super fit! (Despite the fact that at 14 I did little to no exercise other than chase boys, smoked and ate lots of junk food!)
I chased the lady in fluoro orange and managed to overtake her,
“Whoop whoop I’m on fire today” I thought.
“Living in a material world” I sang along to the music….

I got to the 2.5km mark and turned round, and had an epiphany…

Here I am, my last day of holidays, in a beautiful setting, with mountains, trees and wildlife all around me, and I’m pounding the pavement, trying to beat other runners, watching the stopwatch, listening to songs I can hear anytime.

So….off went the music, and I started to look around at my surroundings, noticing the rainbow parakeets, listening to the kookaburras laugh, the corellas squawk, taking in the scent of the gum trees, and feeling the steady thud of my trainers on the path.

And then I saw them…creatures I hadn’t ever seen here before, 2 emus, in the reserve next to the track, then a kangaroo, and another, and a few more. I hadn’t seen one animal for the first half of my run…no doubt I had run straight past them, looking at my stopwatch, listening to “Holiday” all the while missing out on the things I love about our own holiday in the Grampians.

I loved my mindful running today, using all my 5 senses instead of going through the motions. Don’t get me wrong mindless running is still better than no running, and it’s hard to be mindful all the time, sometimes you just have to crank up the tunes and Get into the groove, but today, was mindful bliss!

20140109-222241.jpg

4 responses to “Mindfulness, Madonna and holiday running

  1. Nicola says:

    YEP! You may have seen the photos of the runs & hiking I did on my holiday on the round page. I wasn’t going for times etc I was there to enjoy the experience. Glad you did too! 🙂

  2. Skye says:

    Mindfulness is lovely, and seldom in our busy lives

Leave a Reply

