motherhoodfaithfitness

sharing the joys, triumphs and struggles of faith, family and fitness!

Hands Free Mama…the first week

on February 19, 2014

20140219-220337.jpg

This is the book I had been so excited to read, but knew for a certainty it would require guts, honesty and speak
some home truths into my family life.

I confess, I have Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, email, messaging, internet and a plethora of interesting apps on my phone, ranging from my fitness pal, to spark recipes, from eBay to Thomas the tank engine games.
I can sometimes waste so much time flitting from app to app, social media to the weather forecast, head down immersed in the information my phone feeds me, all the while missing what’s going on in the same room where I’m sitting.
I need this book! I have 5 children, a hubby and two dogs all vying for my attention, and often they are competing against a YouTube clip, a work or ministry email, or a friend on Facebook. Now I’m not going to be going all Amish, reverting to writing letters and deleting my Facebook account, but I need to find the balance…this is where this book will hopefully shine a little light!

With anticipation I got out my new journal and started…
The first thing that grabbed my attention was the Hands Free pledge,
Here is an excerpt…

“I’m becoming Hands free.
I want to make memories, not to-do lists,
I want to feel the squeeze of my child’s arms, not the pressure of overcommitment…”

“I’m letting go of distraction, disconnection and perfection to live a life that simply, so very simply, consists of what really matters.”

I really do want these things…can it really be as simple as turning off my phone?

The first challenge is to switch off for set periods of time a day, for 30 mins, for an hour. To make that conscious decision to push aside the distractions and concentrate on what is truly important in your life.

This is my first task…and I’m really trying to be aware of the times I can check emails etc, I’m putting my phone into my bag when there is homework to help with or choir songs to listen to,
It’s a start….
I’m hoping that this awareness will lead to me having more time to enjoy my children, and be really present in their lives. To read an extra book at bedtime, to sit on their bed and chat about their day, to notice their faces when their favourite show comes on tv or they learn a new word.
The pay offs are going to be huge!
Ok I’m logging off now…

One response to “Hands Free Mama…the first week

  1. Tara Jane says:

    Such a great idea. Time is so precious I think no-phone moments are really important these days. My husband and I try and do this at home as well, we have a no-phone at the dinner table and a no-phone in the bedroom policy which helps us to communicate more 🙂

Leave a Reply

