motherhoodfaithfitness

sharing the joys, triumphs and struggles of faith, family and fitness!

Seeing ‘Moments that matter’ as I become a Hands free mama

on March 13, 2014

20140313-230610.jpg

Hands free Mama is a book I’ve been reading for a few weeks and tonight’s chapter on ‘Seeing life through undistracted eyes’ was very timely.

How many times have I looked at my children and not really seen them? Found a pile of engines on my lap and have no idea when and which child put them there? Taken them to a swimming class and although I sat dutifully on the side not actually been present at all?
I know I’m not alone, lots of my mummy friends are in the same boat of ‘multi tasking, being too busy, juggling work and home, stressed out, trying to do it all, and get it all right’ stage of parenting, especially those of us with big families.

In her book Rachel Macy Stafford encourages us to write a list of ‘Moments that matter’ in our Hands free journey.
I have really tried to focus on being more present and notice the small things around me that are important and yet so temporal.
Here are a few of today’s moments that matter.
– Feeling both little chubby arms hugging me tight around my neck in the morning when I get my boy out of his cot. He gives amazing cuddles already!
– Watching Mr 5 read a book to Miss 10 after dinner time, marveling at not only his reading skills, but her tenderness and patience as she helped him with some tricky words
– Listening to my Hubby, Mr 20 and his best friend read Pilgrims Progress together, each taking a turn at reading the classic, their deep voices, laughter and earnestness.
– Not just hearing, but listening to Miss 17 tell me about her maths test, her worship band practice, her teacher’s year 12 advice, plus the all important question ‘what you wear to your formal?’, compared to ‘what you wear to someone else’s?’ (it’s an education!)
– Teaching my littlest boy how to build a train track, pretending to be the Fat Controller, making Donkey kong sit in a truck and seeing the delight on his face at the crashes, the different voices and the races the trains have together.

These are just a few of my moments today. I’m sure you can all think of a few in your household too. It’s an exercise in slowing down, breathing, observing and drinking in these moments. Blink, check your email, update your status, take a selfie, watch a funny video…..and we may miss them, and sadly they may never happen again. I know….because I have missed SOOOOO many meaningful moments that I will never get back, but tomorrow is a new day, and it will be full of treasured moments, I just have to be present and seek them out!

20140313-224843.jpg

2 responses to “Seeing ‘Moments that matter’ as I become a Hands free mama

  1. Tara Jane says:

    I’m not a mum (in a few years maybe) but I can even see these moments-that-matter around my own house or around my friends that I think we miss with technology in our hands all the time. There is so much going on to appreciate and enjoy and be involved in without having to check FB or Twitter.

    • You are so right, and how blessed to be able to recognise that before having littleys. It is true of all areas of our lives isn’t it, work colleagues, family, loved ones, friends. We only pass this way once!

Leave a Reply

