motherhoodfaithfitness

sharing the joys, triumphs and struggles of faith, family and fitness!

Mummy’s midriff musings!

on March 31, 2014

20140331-130852.jpg

Nothing like seeing an unflattering photo of yourself to startle you into healthy eating and a consistent fitness plan!
Pole fitness requires shorts for leg grip and sometimes a crop top to get into moves that require ‘tummy grip’. It’s not that we just like exposing ourselves.
So last week while practicing a new combo, Butterfly to Flatline Scorpio in the privacy of my garage, I decided to film my progress, in crop top and shorts. On viewing the little video I was pleased with the move, but mortified at my tummy. I know we are not the sum of our body parts, and that having a flat tummy does not equal happiness, fulfillment, success or inner peace, but I really would like it to not look like I am constantly 6 months pregnant. (I have been asked more times than I care to think about, THAT question…”when’s the baby due?”)
However I also am aware of certain truths….
I am 42,
I am short waisted,
I have had 5 children over 21 years, genetically I’m never going to be a waif like build,
and best of all,
I am loved and cherished whatever my waist circumference.
But….there’s nothing wrong with improvements, steps towards health and good nutrition, exercising self control around the pantry and being the best version of myself I can be.
I don’t have a lot of kgs to lose, maybe 5-8 at most, but that tummy!!!!
So, back to eating clean and whole foods, plenty of protein and healthy veggies, eliminating the processed foods and eating sweet treats mindlessly. Realistically I believe to sustain this I will have some chocolate and wine now and again, but as a wise friend once told me, “Treat treats as treats”.
Consume them mindfully and enjoy them, then get on with the rest
of your life.
This is not a body shaming, or body loathing post, before anyone says it is, I am fearfully and wonderfully made and my body is amazing, it can, and has, done amazing feats, babies, marathons and pole fitness
are just some of them.
I just want to be able to do up my jeans!
Here are some of my favourite reads and resources about how to love, nourish and look after your body!
Body Image Movement
Prayfit

Leave a Reply

