motherhoodfaithfitness

sharing the joys, triumphs and struggles of faith, family and fitness!

Balanced beginnings

on November 2, 2014

Overwhelmed, frustrated, inadequate, unproductive, spreading myself too thinly….all words that flitted around my head when I sat down to
“organise” my life this weekend.
I took some time on Saturday morning, with my calendar, “to do” list and weekly planner. Among the feelings of despair I was also quietly excited and hopeful to see how much time I would have left over once I had sorted out my crazy schedule…
That didn’t happen…
This did…

IMG_4311.JPG

Hence the “overwhelmed”, “spreading myself too thinly” thoughts in my head.

As a mum, when I actually wrote EVERYTHING down, cooking, cleaning, school runs, after school activities, appointments, work, commitments, exercise, study, food shopping, date night, I realised very quickly there would be no time left over, in fact there is no time to do anything as well as I’d like.
And that’s not including the Christmas and end of year concerts, celebrations, assemblies, graduations and parties to prepare and attend!

Don’t get me wrong, I love being part of a big beautiful family where our lives are filled, but I often get the nagging feeling “What have I forgot?” “Who is missing out?” “Where am I supposed to be tonight?”
So what to do with the beauti-full life I have?

I prayed…
I opened my Bible (app)…
The word for the day was…

The secret of the LORD is with those who fear Him, And He will show them His covenant. (‭Psalms‬ ‭25‬:‭14‬ NKJV)

Now this may not seem particularly relevant to organising my life, but I took it as:

God will let me in on His secret to living a good purposeful pleasing life.

So what is God trying to teach me?
I’ll let you in on His secret for me in my next blog…I’ve got homework to help with, tea to cook, a son to pick up and washing to do!

Leave a Reply

